dekkosecure

Tenancy Management

Classic Hubs vs Project Hubs

The differences between Classic and Project Hubs, and how each works within a Tenancy.

DekkoCORE arranges content and people in to “Hubs”. A hub is a contained workspace; files cannot be shared across Hubs, and you can’t see a Hub unless you are added to it.

There are two types of Hubs - Classic Hubs and Project Hubs.

Hubs always belong to a “Tenancy”. Tenancy policies apply to the Hubs within it, with some distinctions depending on if the Hub is a classic Hub or a Project Hub.

A Tenancy can consist of Classic Hubs only, Project Hubs only, or both. There are no limits to the number of Hubs in a Tenancy.

Notion image

An organisation can use multiple Tenancies on DekkoCORE. This may be the case where different areas of an organisation should have different administrative users, policies, or integrations.

Notion image

Hubs can be created by users with the “Tenancy Manager” role. The creator of a Hub is automatically set as an admin of that Hub; Tenancy Managers and Hub Admins can invite users to a Hub and also make them an admin.

Hubs have their own settings, separately from the configurations applied to them by Tenancy policies, such External user restrictions, branding and feature availability.

Non-admin users in a Hub are a “Team” or “External” member. Externals cannot see or share with each other in a Hub.

💡

Project Hubs can only be enabled by DekkoSecure staff. Please contact your DekkoSecure account manager to discuss the use of Project Hubs.

Classic Hubs

Ad hoc sharing and collaboration - explicit sharing with users in the Hub contact list

Notion image

Features:

  • File sharing
  • Document collaboration
  • eSignature requests
  • Messaging
  • Forms
Notion image

Classic Hubs have a members (Admin, Team & External) and their own settings for controlling branding and feature availability.

Project Hubs

Structured record management and sharing - implicit sharing with groups

Notion image

Features:

  • File sharing
  • Document collaboration
  • Content attribution
  • Search by attribute
  • Hub data index
Notion image

Project Hubs have groups and individuals for sharing that are associated via the Project Hub Tenancy control.

Hubs and Tenancies

Selecting Hubs

Classic and Project Hubs are displayed and selected in separate navigation dropdowns.

Classic Hubs

Notion image

If you are a member of Classic Hubs only, you will not see the Project Hub dropdown.

Project Hubs

Notion image

If you are a member of Project Hubs only, you will not see the Classic Hub dropdown.

Classic Hubs

Classic Hubs have a standard “file explorer” style interface with folders listed first, and files underneath.

Notion image

Sharing is explicit - users can only see what they upload or what has been shared with them. Each file and folder is shared with a permission per-user. Sharing permissions are independent of Hub roles, for example, a user can be a Hub admin, and a file is shared with them as view only.

Notion image

The navigation panel on the left side of the user interface to switch between file management, use the approvals filter, mail inbox, chats, Hub settings, and to view the Hub contact list.

Notion image

Users are added to a Hub by anyone in the Hub with the Hub admin role or Team with invite role. Users with the Team (without invite) or the External role cannot send invites.

Project Hubs

Project Hubs have a more detailed “record management” style interface. Folders are listed first and files are underneath, and both are complemented with metadata columns that are configured per-Tenancy.

Notion image

All files in the Hub, regardless of their location in a folder, can be seen in a flat list called the “index”. Only users with requisite permission can access the index. The index has two views - files with all metadata fields filled (the default view) and the all files, regardless of whether all metadata fields are filled. Both views can be exported as a CSV file.

Notion image

Sharing is implicit - groups and individuals (a group of 1!) are added as default sharing parties to the Hub. Everything uploaded to the Hub is instantly shared with those parties. Additional parties can be added to individual files and folders.

Notion image

Groups are created and managed in the Tenancy Manager. Adding a user to a group grants access to all content that is accessible to that group. Removing a user from a group instantly revokes their access to content, unless they are part of another group that is active in the Hub.

Notion image
Did this answer your question?
😞
😐
🤩